Asking Spirit to help you manage trust vs fear

The Bene Gesserit Litany against Fear

I must not fear

Fear is the mind-killer

Fear is the little death that brings total obliteration

I will face my fear

I will permit it to pass over me and through me

And when it is gone past

I will turn the inner eye to see its path

Where the fear has gone there will be nothing

Only I will remain.

[‘Dune’ by Frank Herbert [Pg 19]

This is such a rich juicey topic that my mind is having a field day going here there and everywhere to answer. Since part of my passion is connecting and supporting others in connecting consciously with Spirit/Goddess its easy for me to get all fired up and passionate about where to begin.

So, first up, to heartfully consciously connect with this pretty passionate and wylde tendency within me, I stop myself. Then I ensure that I am focussed, ‘in tune’ [connected to my intuition], and open to being clear with Spirit on how to answer. To do this, I consciously stop my mind from wandering and wondering by grounding myself and trusting that I will receive clear guidance from Spirit that I can discern because it feels right and is uplifting and inspiring and encouraging and supportive.

Grounding helps me to focus on here and now: to feel my body, to put my feet on the ground and connect to Mother Earth and to breathe deeply of Her sweet breath. This helps me to become present to myself. To be still and then to tune in to my inner wyse voice, which is also known as celestial or divine essence, higher self, source, the silent observer.

When I can feel that I’m grounded and connected .. present to NOW, then I ask the Goddess to help me get an overview and a microview of what I can feel building creatively within myself. For me, when I’m receiving some type of creative inspiration like when I have a brilliant flash for a painting or a blog article or a workshop or a course I’d like to offer – my mind darts off all over the place on different tangents. This gift has come about because I am able to think and conceptualise on different levels or planes of awareness at the same time. And I am able to receive the ways and where and how’s that this will happen because I have learnt to get out of the way and allow Spirit to guide me in all kinds of ways, known and unknown.

My time as an Art Teacher brainstorming ideas with students, then as an academic University researcher, means that my mind is very quick at seeking out all kinds of potentials & solutions for my project. Sometimes it’s too quick, too busy and then my inner ego voice might cut in telling me I’m not good enough, who do I think I am to even dream I could do this?? and blah blah blah. .. you get the picture. I know when I am on the right path because I can feel it ‘in my gut’ and my heart feels like its swelling with love and inspiration.

When I am fearful, doubting and getting in my own way, then I tune in to discovers what’s blocking me. I’ve learnt about what happens through my work as shamanic psychotherapist. When this aspect of my consciousness kicks in I become aware that my inner distorting filters and subconscious self-sabotage belief systems have been activated. Because I have done a lot of inner work to meet, work with and accept my emotional wounds and belief patterns – which is also called working with the shadow self – I can usually identify where & when these stem from. Mostly they are emanating from my lower or ego self which does NOT at any cost, want me to succeed. After all, who am I but some ordinary and insignificant woman .. why would any one want to listen to me, buy my art, attend my courses??

This shadow self is the ‘wounded’ part that has taken on a whole range of beliefs, emotional triggers and masks based on misperceptions formed over our lifetime. How many of us have had parents and/or teachers, siblings or others tell us as young children that we ‘shouldn’t do [something] …’ that our schoolwork is ‘poor’ or our handwriting ‘messy’ and ‘you couldn’t sing to save yourself’ or ‘you don’t have what it takes to be a champion’. Over time, we discover that we have gathered a whole library of inaccurate fears that become like hidden poisonous seeds located somewhere within ourselves & which, if out of control, play on relentlessly in circles in our minds. These inner seeds are commonly identified as: self sabotage, lack of self worth, lack of self love, poor me, and so forth.

When are about you start something new, embark on a new venture of some kind: anything from leaving school and working for the first time, to changing jobs, moving to a new part of the world, starting a new romantic relationship or simply living your life; these tricky little distorted seeds can suddenly germinate and begin their nasty destructive traits of overtaking your previous excitement and enthusiasm. You might find yourself doubting that you will ever achieve your dreams and ambitions. You question yourself and all your great ideas and hard work suddenly seem insignificant or worthless or unworkable.

This is when it’s important to know, love, accept and honour yourself well enough to recognise these inner limiting fears, distortion filters and doubts so that when they pop up – typically just as your about to launch your ‘wonder something’ out there – you are able to deal with them effectively. It’s equally valid and important to be self-loving enough that you are able to be brave and reach out for help, support, advice, a shoulder to lean and an objective yet friendly ear to ‘hear’ what’s going on for you. This is compassion, self love and self worth in action.

Since I’m basically an optimistic, wyldely creative and intuitive woman, I like to go on a voyage of inner and outer discovery to work out what’s going on when my ‘stuff’ pops up and my shadow self wants to undermine my achievements and my aspirations and visions for my business. Useful tools for me include processes like ‘removing the distorting filters’ which involves tapping on the high heart chakra whilst simultaneously saying aloud:

‘ REFRESH … RESTORE … RENEW … RECALIBRATE … RAISE THE FREQUENCY OF … AND CLEAN THE FILTERS FROM my ocular nerve. Remove all filters that are preventing me from seeing what I am meant to see.’ [as taught by shaman Jose Luis Stevens, PhD]

Or: ‘REFRESH … RESTORE … RENEW … RECALIBRATE … RAISE THE FREQUENCY OF … AND CLEAN THE FILTERS from my high heart chakra that prevent me from connecting directly with divine love, divine will and divine consciousness’

[as given directly to Lynn Solang by Spirit after a week of doing the above distortion clearing by Dr Stevens]

Another practice I love to use to ‘tune in’ within is automatic writing or doodling. To do this, simply sit quietly with a pen and notebook. Do some breaths to ground and still yourself. Then ask your inner Goddess/God a question about, or for some insights into your fears. Start with one query at a time and write it at the top of the page. Then take your pen for a walk across the page allowing it to meander wherever .. this is doodling .. let it flow without you consciously choosing where the pen will move to next.

After a while you will become ‘aware’ of a deeper presence within you. And that this presence is now the one moving your pen. And then a stream of consciousness will begin to flow as your query is answered, and a solution or guidance given. This may go on for a little while or it may be one word or two.

You will KNOW when it’s done.

And you will know that this is your higher or Spirit who’s answered you. This presence comes with an energy signature which feels different to your usual ‘knowing’ of yourself and your mind voice. It typically feels a bit weird at first cause we’re not used to consciously experiencing it. Once you have been touched by Spirit you will never ever forget. For it is love and loving.

If you’re not big on writing you can do the same thing at your computer. Type your question, breathe quietly and consciously as you focus on your query and then your hands will begin typing Spirit’s advice and guidance for you.

Another great way to ‘tune in’ for learn how to trust your inner voice is to use a deck of inspirational cards. Ask to be given one or two that will provide you with clarity on your blocks, the way forward etc. then shuffle and ‘hold’ your question in your heart mind as you do so. Usually 1 or 2 cards will drop out of the deck. Hold these cards and simply look at and feel them to begin with. Then ‘tune in’ … and notice what you ‘get’ what you ‘feel’ without actually reading whatever message might be written on the card. Then look at the images and colours. How do these make you feel?

Write down your responses. If you are feeling good, uplifted, encourage and inspired then there’s your clue that Spirit has answered you. If you have doubts or fears, your lower self has kicked in … and this is good awareness so that you learn to discern the voice and energy signature of Spirit compared to your own doubtful mind.

For those of us who aren’t confident about what the voice of our inner divine self is like my response … from my heart to yours, is that Its’ love. Pure and simple!

When your inner Spirit is talking with you, the overwhelming feeling and essence is love .. uplifting .. joyful .. pure energy. There is no fear, no doubts, no what If’s … no nagging or put downs. Always always our inner Spirit self is supporting us.

So, are you ready to embark on the magical mystery tour that is life and creating consciously with Spirit? Then let go of all the what if’s … the doubts .. the need to have every minute detail planned out to the nano second and surrender to the Great Mystery of Spirit who holds your best interests at Heart always. Allow the doors that need to close, to be closed so that new ones may open. Allow old patterns fears and doubts to be surrendered to the Silver Violet Flame which transforms and transmutes every fearful thing into trust, love and creativity.

I will leave you with another favourite inspirational quote which really touched my heart and soul:

Our Deepest Fear

by Marianne Williamson

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.

We ask ourselves: ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’

Actually, who are you not to be?

You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world.

There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We are all meant to shine, as children do.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.

It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear

Our presence automatically liberates others.

by Marianne Williamson
from A Return To Love: Reflections on the Principles of A Course in Miracles,

Harper Collins, 1992. From Chapter 7, Section 3

 

Blessings Lynn Solang Smith, BCA, Grad Dip Ed, Dip Body Psychotherapy, Cert Holistic Counsellor, Munay-ki Rites Teacher.

Mobile: 0421 864 909

Email: lynnasmith2002@hotmail.com

Websites:

http://lynnasmith2002.wix.com/rainbow-labyrinth

https://www.facebook.com/lynn.guy.14

https://lynnasmith13.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

